Street Photography Task

As the contact sheet of the street photography is failed to added here, I would like to share a couple of pictures which I’m quite satisfied with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. Busker in the north street:

There is a busker playing guitar. As the street was pretty busy, people were keep passing by in front of him. Unless staying a while in a corner to capture, there’re always passerby appear in the picture. However, I think the subject is still able to be recognised since he’s in the centre and in focus in the photo while the woman on the left is out focus.

2. Woman listening to music

This was taken in North Laine while the woman’s listening to music with her headphone and walking towards me. She didn’t notice me taking picture of her therefore her expression was very natural. Also, she’s in the centre of the photo and in focus. In my opinion, I think the surrounding of my subject is quite a lot so I’ll try to avoid it and make my photo looks more clear.

3. Strong MOM

At that moment, this mother was walking quite fast and a bit distance from me. I was trying to capture her face and the babies as fast as possible. Therefore, I couldn’t control the lighting and horizontal line well. The background and the woman herself are quick dark in the photo. However, the message of the photo is well indicated.

4. Sweet family

This was a picture which made me think: ‘ oh, I must capture this beautiful moment of a sweet family’ at that time. This isn’t a good photography as it’s not horizontal and too many other objects are in the frame. It would be better if I had only those 2 women and the baby in the screen as well as the level was parallel.

Conclusion of the street photography task

My experience with the camera:
  • As it was during the daytime, lighting can be changing all the time. It’s supposed to adjust ISO and aperture carefully all the time;
  • As I didn’t have a tripod with me, I had to be calm and patient to hold the camera longer in order to take clear photographs.

Besides technical skills, I realised the attitudes of photographers are also very important. Being nice to the subjects can let them feel more comfortable and less rejective to be captured.

Leave a comment